not really a monologue

Living in a cheap apartment, our mattress on the ground, I’m in the bathtub in my swimsuit when he walks in. Apparently it’s bad to soak in cold water but that’s near all I can do in this heat. He shaves and then plays with my toes at the water’s edge.

-Come on in, the water’s frigid

He splashes on top of me, still in his clothes from running

I kiss his neck. Sweat. I kiss his mouth. He is warming up the water and I nearly make him get out but then he sits back, my feet on either of his shoulders.

He kisses my ankles.

-Let’s leave

-What?

-Let’s buy a car and leave. There’s nothing here for us anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

