May First

18253927_1439158432813783_17059236_n

Today the barista at my favorite coffee shop remembered my name, I killed my Modernist Poetry final exam, and the student center played the entire Tarzan soundtrack, so really I couldn’t have started out my May any better.

Here are some pieces of the world to hopefully help you start your month on the right foot

  • Vinny Mallozzi used to write about sports, now he’s covered over 6000 weddings for the New York Times, in this video he talks about how they aren’t as different as they appear – how they’re two of the equalizers in our society.
  • 25 years after the LA riots – a look at the humanity of Rodney King.
“It is difficult to tell ‘where your anxiety disorder ends and where actual news begins.’ “

“And these women, particularly young women, realize they are the ones who are going to have to stop this. And they are rolling up their sleeves and saying, ‘Put me to work.’ “


If you thought last week’s link about #Vanlife was interesting, here’s an in-depth look at the moms making seven figures portraying ‘attainable perfection’ on social media.


 

“I don’t know
when I got so punk rock
but when I catch
myself in the mirror I
feel stronger”
– Poet Morgan Parker,
who “describes her domestic aesthetic as ‘a little bit about avoiding the quiet.’ ”
Instagram Artist: Atelier Jean-Charles Millepied

NOWNESS has a calming Youtube series on the living spaces creatives make for themselves, here are three of my favorites:

  1. Devendra Banhart
  2. Adwoa Aboah
  3. Florence Welch

Let me know how your May started 🙂

Happy Monday Lovelies,
Mo

Leave a Reply

